Skip to content

A Polaroid update.

March 9, 2012

I’m not a big fan of Instagram, but I really love this Polaroid app. It makes the colors pop and can pretty much turn any meh photo into a wow photo. I also love how the app mimics the polaroid coming out of the camera and how it even takes a few seconds to reveal your photo, and you can shake it too! Though just like with real Polaroids, it doesn’t actually help.

I used to take Polaroids all the time – when I lived in Paris I had an entire wall covered in them. (I just realized that that was almost ten years ago. Wow.) Anyway, I miss Polaroids. I guess I could probably get some films somewhere, I hear that even though Polaroid stopped making the films, another company took over? I should look into it, but in the meantime I’ve been using my iPhone as a (much cheaper and convenient) substitute.

Here’s a few snapshots of what caught my attention lately:

We live in a tiny studio and our bedroom doesn’t have windows – so it’s usually pretty dark in there, except in the middle of the day when the light coming in through the living-room windows shines all the way through the apartment and lands on my white bedspread. I love it.

Speaking of windows, my cat has been busy surveilling pigeons and buses lately, as well as the flow of people coming in and out of the bodegas across the street from us. Someone has to do it.

Apparently winter was canceled this year. Tulips a gogo! I got these from the corner store and repotted them as soon as I got home. Then the entire Internet told me I had basically just killed them by repotting them while still blooming. Internet, so far you are wrong. They’re fine. So far.

Took this photo on Leap Day and it made me smile, you know, because of 30 Rock.

Ariele pointed out this building to me the other day while we were driving around Brooklyn looking for dumpsters and old wood. It’s so beautiful. I hope it never gets torn down (it surely will). I wish the city would let us buy it for a dollar. Come on, Bloomberg! We totally deserve it.

The one thing about Brooklyn that gets me every time: the light. Especially at sunset. The city gets drenched in beautiful liquid golden light, with the huge blue sky as a backdrop. When it happens, I just have to stop, stare, smile. And take a picture.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2012 11:35 am

    I’m so happy those tulips are still alive! They are gorgeous. And that wonderful bedspread shot is amazing and artsy and is reminiscent of the bluehour photographs. So beautiful, Amelie! Let’s buy that building. Or chain ourselves to it when they want to tear it down — Brooklyn are you with me? Peaceful protest!

  2. March 9, 2012 5:15 pm

    Ah New York !

  3. March 10, 2012 9:45 am

    beautiful shots. :)

  4. March 19, 2012 12:36 pm

    brooklyn has ocean light. unbeatable.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.