Skip to content

Lyon! – Or, the city with two rivers, two hills and one park.

December 30, 2011
tags: , ,


Lyon has two rivers, the Rhone and the Saone. It also has two hills, Fourviere and la Croix-Rousse. Take a walk down its tree-lined banks (les quais) and you’ll come across spectacular views of the city and its many bridges, all the more magnificent at sunset.

The Parc de la Tete d’Or was created in 1857, the same year as Central Park. It is one of the largest parks in France. Designed a l’anglaise, it was created in order to “bring Nature to those who don’t have access to it”.

It has a lake, a botanical garden, bike racing tracks and a zoo. On Sundays my parents would sometimes take us there and we’d walk around the lake, through the zoo to see les biches, les lions, les elephants and les crocodiles. Sometimes we’d bring our roller skates or our bikes. We’d always beg for a gauffre or a barbe a papa (cotton candy) and sometimes we’d get lucky.

Parc de la Tete d’Or:

Boulevard des Belges

69006 Lyon

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2011 10:13 am

    It’s so beautiful! I love the white pelican and I totally want to go paddling around in those little boats. It even feels a lot like Central Park! Minus that gorgeous gate. I started building you something today — I can’t wait for you to come back so I can give it to ya 🙂 Keep posting more France!

    • Amelie permalink*
      December 30, 2011 8:12 pm

      Oooh can’t wait to see it! Exciting! I’m bringing you a thing or two from France… Coffee is in order as soon as I get back!

      That pelican was the most exquisite shade of pink. It looked like a live Audubon print.

  2. December 31, 2011 12:54 pm

    Haaa, Lyon, the 2nd most beautiful city in Europe (after Prague)
    Wait, who said I’m biased!?

  3. January 22, 2012 8:45 pm

    Oh wow! I love the animals in this post those flamencos are the most stunning shade of pink. I’ve only been to France once and it was a very brief visit to Paris, but I will definitely put Lyon on the list if I ever go back.

Leave a Reply

